top of page

The Prophecy of a Born Hero

"Come sit with me now. We'll gaze at the falling sun as it grazes this horizon as we talk about simple nothings and silent stirrings with someone who means everything"

~Victoria Erickson

Fall is still my favorite season. It's for slowing down, folding in to the softness of a couch, and telling stories. Since Ian's death my edges are softer, and the stories have more heart and purpose. And in re telling some older stories a new connection emerges.

Five years ago September 28th 2012 Bella lost a very dear childhood friend in a tragic accident. I think this was the first time I remember witnessing my young 12 year old experience loss and grief. That day, and they days that followed, Bella and Ian and our dear friend Ryan huddled together telling stories of what we knew of Jackson. Guiding these young kids to navigate their feelings and fears about death and dying at such a young age felt impossible. We were all shaken. It was painful to watch this part of growing up.

The next day, not quite knowing how to move through my own day, l chose to do something normal and routine and went to the gym to teach one of my regular classes. A few of my co workers had heard the news about Jackson and gave me hugs and encouragement to get through the hour. One of those co workers was Kat.

She and I were just friends then. We didn't know much about each other. We had spent small pockets of time at the gym talking about workouts, meal plans, her family and my kids. On that day I remember just telling her how unsure I was about guiding Bella through this sadness. I told her how sad I was for Jackson's parents and that I couldn't imagine their loss or even how to approach them with support.

Kat took that morning to tell me of her plans to become a Fire Fighter. She told me it was a goal that she began a year ago. I remember telling her I didn't know how she could be the first one on scene of a tragic accident like Jackson's. As if it were a prophecy, Kat told me that she would want to be there, even if it were only to be comfort to a mother grieving an immeasurable loss.

So 5 years later on October 13th 2017, Kat will ceremoniously become a City of Seattle Firefighter. And 5 months ago, she was there, first on scene, saying goodbye to her best friend and guiding a mom and daughter through their immeasurable loss.

We are proud, we are blessed and we are stronger because of you.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page